5217 S 51st St, Greenfield, WI 53220

Underage owi in wisconsin

Wisconsin OWI defense lawyer

In Wisconsin, operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated can lead to serious legal repercussions. It is crucial to comprehend the laws, potential penalties, and available legal options if you find yourself facing OWI charges.

According to Wisconsin law, operating while intoxicated (OWI) refers to driving a motor vehicle while under the influence of an intoxicant (alcohol or drugs) which renders the driver incapable of safely driving. You might see your traffic ticket refer to violations to Wisconsin statute “346.63(2m)“.

For drivers under the age of 21, Wisconsin’s “Not a Drop” alcohol law (346.63(2m)mandates absolute sobriety when driving. Thus making it illegal for those under 21 to consume any amount of alcohol and get behind the wheel.

Wisconsin PAC or Restricted Controlled Substance Lawyer

 The prohibited alcohol concentration (PAC) for drivers under the age of 21 is any detectable amount of alcohol or drugs. In addition, you may be convicted of an OWI with any amount of restricted controlled substance in your blood.

Our Promise

Our law firm will review any misdemeanors charged in your case, explain what those charges mean, and advise you on your best legal options. Contact us today to schedule a consultation and get the best representation you need in your unique circumstances.

Please use this guide provided by wicourts.gov to help you understand the consequences you are facing and what to do next.

WI OWI Penalty Chart (pdf)

Possible consequences for Operating While Intoxicated

If convicted of operating a vehicle while intoxicated underage, you could face several punishments, including:

  • $200 fine
  • Immediate 3-month license suspension
  • 4 Driver’s License demerit points
  • May apply for an occupational license immediately with SR-22 insurance form
  • Fine & suspension doubled if passenger under age of 16 is in vehicle at the time
  • The OWI conviction will remain on your driving record for five years
  • increased insurance rates
  • losing scholarships or other personal consequences
 
If you are convicted of an OWI for a second or third time while under the age of 21, then the penalties become even more severe.
  • 2nd time underage offense:
    • $250-$500 fine
    • driver’s license suspended for up to 1 year
  • 3rd and subsequent underage offense:
    • $250-$500 fine
    • driver’s license suspended for up to 2 years

What happens if you fail to appear in court?

Being charged with an underage OWI is a civil offense. However, it is not ‘just a ticket’ because the penalties if you are convicted are severe, expensive, and remain on your record for 5 years.  If you do not appear in court you will automatically be convicted of a default judgement of guilty on all charges. Make sure to contact a specialized traffic attorney that understands Wisconsin’s OWI offenses well.

Skip to content