5217 S 51st St, Greenfield, WI 53220

Atty Justin Griffis Milwaukee DUI Lawyer

Milwaukee DUI Defense Lawyer


  • 28 Years of Experience
  • Milwaukee DUI Lawyers that practice exclusively OWI (Operating while influenced) and DUI (Driving under the Influence).
  • We help you out with:
    • OWI / DUI First
    • OWI / DUI Second
    • OWI / DUI Third
  • Over 2,563 successful outcomes and counting!

Biggest Drunk Driving misconception

Isn’t it cheaper to just pay the DUI/OWI ticket and move on with my life?

No it is not! 

This is a very prominent and damaging misconception, because the amount you’re required to pay right off the bat (the amount listed on the top right hand corner of the citation) is not the final amount you will pay upon conviction! This immediate forfeiture amount typically lies between $700.00-$1,000.00 and, unfortunately, this is just the beginning of the burdens you will have to bear. To better understand what the costs may be and your charges, download our PDF on DUI Laws in Wisconsin.

Out of Pocket Costs:

If you are convicted of an OWI First in the State of Wisconsin you will be subjected to a mandatory AODA assessment (alcohol and drug assessment). This will typically cost several hundred to even a thousand dollars out of pocket. While an OWI First in the State of Wisconsin is a civil ordinance violation ticket and not a criminal offense, we are the only state in the USA which views it as such! Meaning, if you ever apply for a job out of state, your future employer may believe you have been convicted of a crime or even served jail time. Not to mention, if your BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) was above the legal limit, but below .15, your drivers license will be revoked for a period of six to nine months. We recommend you hire a reputable DUI lawyer located in Milwaukee.

If you were to apply for an occupational license during these proceedings, then even more restrictions, expenses and paperwork will apply to you. Upon receiving your occupational license, you will only be able to drive during certain hours of the day, typically before and after work. You would only be able to drive 60 hours per week on an occupational license. Which might seem like plenty of time, but most people’s driving obligations span far beyond these time restrictions, affecting both your personal and social life.

1st offense OWI penalties and fines in Milwaukee

Penalties for a first OWI in Wisconsin include: 

  • $150-$300 fine
  • Revocation of your driver’s license for 6-9 months
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle (if BAC exceeds .14%)
  • Required SR-22 insurance for high-risk driver status
  • Mandatory Alcohol and Other Drug Assessment (AODA)
  • Occupational driver’s license IID installation & service charges

An OWI conviction will also result in penalties outside the Wisconsin courthouse, including travel restrictions to other countries, increased insurance rates, and the possibility of losing your job. We recommend that you hire a Milwaukee DUI attorney if you have been convicted for a DUI charge.

There are other circumstances too that can effect your penalties such as: Excessive BAC, Driving with a minor DUI, and causing injury.

2nd offense OWI penalties and fines in Milwaukee

A second-offense OWI in Wisconsin is a criminal charge accompanied by severe penalties and fines if convicted. Second-offense OWI penalties in Wisconsin include:

  • 5 days to 6 months in jail
  • $350-$1100 in fines and a $435 driver improvement surcharge
  • Driver’s license revoked 12-18 months
  • 12-18 months required ignition interlock device (IID) in the vehicle
  • $250 alcohol and drug assessment
  • Travel ban to Canada and problems traveling abroad in European Union

Someone convicted of their second OWI in Wisconsin will be required to carry SR22 high-risk auto insurance and pay higher rates for life and health insurance. We recommend that you hire a Milwaukee DUI attorney if you have been convicted for a second DUI charge.

There are other circumstances too that can effect your penalties such as: Excessive BAC, Driving with a minor DUI, and causing injury.

3rd offense OWI penalties and fines in Milwaukee

In Wisconsin, a third-offense OWI carries severe consequences upon conviction. As of 2023, the penalties and fines for a third offense include:

  • Jail time ranging from 45 days to 1 year
  • Fines between $600 and $2000, plus a $435 ‘driver improvement’ surcharge
  • Revocation of driver’s license for 2-3 years
  • Mandatory use of an ignition interlock device (IID) for 1-3 years
  • Absolute sobriety required for obtaining an occupational license
  • Lifetime restriction to a legal BAC limit of .02
  • Ineligibility to travel to Canada and potential challenges when traveling in the European Union
  • All prior OWI offenses, regardless of when they occurred, are considered in a third OWI conviction due to repeat offending.

Someone convicted of their third OWI in Wisconsin will be required to carry SR22 high-risk auto insurance and pay higher rates for life and health insurance. We recommend that you hire a Milwaukee DUI attorney if you have been convicted for a second DUI charge.

There are other circumstances too that can effect your penalties such as: Excessive BAC, Driving with a minor DUI, and causing injury.


Download these forms to help you understand your charges and what you are facing. As your representative we want you to be informed with each step of the process.



Milwaukee DUI lawyers guide to fighting your case

Illegal Stop

People get pulled over all the time in Milwaukee. Often people can be pulled over for not even breaking any rules. You can bring this up as potential grounds for dismissal in your case.

Illegal questioning

Police cannot inquire about alcohol consumption without specific grounds, as per the Fourth Amendment. Requesting a standardized field sobriety test without sufficient evidence can also result in dropped charges if law enforcement errs.

Mishandled Field Sobriety Tests

Incorrectly explained or evaluated field sobriety tests may render evidence inadmissible, possibly preventing an officer from requesting a preliminary breath test roadside or making a DUI arrest.

Mishandling Post-Arrest Alcohol Tests

Strict adherence to professional standards during the handling and processing of blood or breath alcohol tests following an arrest is crucial. Failure to comply might render the test unusable in court, especially if earlier steps like illegal detention or arrest occurred.

Mishandling Personal Alcohol Tests Post-Arrest

The “curve defense,” technically termed “Retrograde extrapolation,” can demonstrate that an individual would have been under the legal limit upon reaching home if not stopped. This defense can turn a slight exeedance over the legal limit into a tool for the defense rather than the prosecution.

Although this information may instill confidence it is only recommendations. We recommend that you hire a Milwaukee DUI Lawyer that knows their way around the law.

Our Expertise

Our law firm will review any DUI or Traffic cases, explain what those charges mean, and advise you on your best legal options. Contact us today to schedule a consultation and get the best representation you need in your unique circumstances.


Car keys on a finger print intake

The aftermath of a drunk driving stop can be a terrifying and confusing experience. With our guidance, clients quickly learn that we can meet this head-on, with competency, effectiveness, and success.


If you refused to test for intoxication within the past 10 days, CALL TODAY. Do not waste any time getting started on your defense; act before you lose certain legal privileges.



Possession of illegal substances will add additional punishments to your OWI charge. Our office can help minimize the effects of the possession charges you are facing. 

Our Milwaukee DUI lawyer Promise

At Konstantakis Law Office, LLC, our experienced team of attorneys is committed to providing each client with dedicated and personalized legal representation. When it comes to OWI & DUI cases, we understand that each is unique, and we work closely with our clients to develop a customized strategy to achieve their goals. Whether you are facing a complex legal issue or simply need guidance on a legal matter, we are here to help.

Did you receive an owi or dui ticket in Wisconsin?

What is the BAC Limit in the state of Wisconsin?

In Wisconsin, if you are found to have been driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or higher, you can face serious consequences.

What happens when I receive an OWI?

The penalties may include jail time, heavy fines, driver license suspension and more. Depending on the severity of your situation, the state may even require you to install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) in all vehicles registered to you. However, our experienced defense attorneys strive to minimize or eliminate the consequences of the matter. We fight to protect your rights, freedom, and future.

Is a DUI a Misdemeanor in Wisconsin?

The seriousness of a DUI charge in Milwaukee depends on how many times you’ve been convicted before. Generally, the first time it happens, it’s seen as a civil violation. But if it’s the second or third time (depending on when the last one was), it could be seen as a more serious misdemeanor. If it’s your fourth time or more, it’s considered a felony.

But there are situations that can change these charges. For instance, even if it’s your first time, if there was a kid in the car, it could become a criminal offense. Also, if someone got hurt because of the DUI, it might become a misdemeanor.

If there’s an injury during a second DUI, it could become a felony. And a third time can become a felony if there was a kid in the car or if someone got hurt. That’s why getting a good DUI lawyer in Milwaukee is really important if you’re facing these charges.

When is a DUI a felony?

Facing a fourth OWI within five years of a previous conviction or a fifth (or more) OWI at any point in your life can result in a felony charge. This could significantly impact your rights and freedom. It’s crucial to reach out to a lawyer experienced in defending felony OWIs promptly to start building your defense against these charges. Read more about Milwaukee felony lawyers here.

Do I have to appear in court when I receive a DUI in Milwaukee, Wisconsin

If you are charged with a DUI in Milwaukee, you usually do not have to go to court as long as your Milwaukee DUI Lawyer appears on your behalf. You will have to show up in the rare event that the case goes to trial however.

Some judges request that defendant attend their sentencing hearing. But most accept a notarized written entry of plea instead.

Don’t let the system take advantage of you.

If you were pulled over on suspicion of drunk driving, our attorneys will consider all elements of the stop. Probable cause, field sobriety tests and breathalyzer results are amongst the elements that our attorneys will identify, challenge, and disprove on your behalf.

Time is of the essence.

We act with immediate urgency, getting involved with the case as soon as possible to ensure vital evidence is preserved. We strive to build a strong, solid defense on your behalf. Call today.

Our Process

  1. First things first, contact us! We want to hear from you. There are always two sides to every story.
  2. Sit back and watch while our lawyers go to work for you!

Things to remember when you face Milwaukee dui or owi charges

Pulled over? Here is what to do.

Car keys on a finger print intake
Know your traffic stop “do’s” and “don’ts”; be aware of trick questions officers may ask.

Is it worth it to fight your drunk-driving conviction?

Before you just pay your ticket and allow the charges to taint your record, consider your options.

Your Milwaukee DUI & OWI Lawyers


Hear from the clients we have helped

“Came in with a case that was stressing me all the way out and things were handled so promptly and with care for me as a person. Hopefully won’t need to come back but if life ever sends me needed legal help this is where I’ll be going first!” – E.A.

“Georgia is one of the top Lawyers in Wisconsin and she is the best I know. Georgia is known for her vast experience and professionalism. For any legal matters I refer to Georgia and her team, and they provide the right guidance and advise to address the issues. I highly recommend Konstantakis law office.” – A.B.

“Georgia was so helpful! I highly recommend anyone and everyone to go to her. She really cares about you and will fight for you.” – H.W.

“I was pulled over and arrested for driving while intoxicated and carrying a concealed weapon while under the influence of alcohol. I was referred to Milwaukee DUI Lawyers by a friend and she agreed to take my case. She got the charges of carrying two concealed weapons reduced to only one weapon. The ADA proposed 4 months in the house of correction and Georgia had my case postponed by introducing new evidence. She immediately went to work on proving my exemplary background and getting character witnesses. She contacted the DA numerous times on my behalf and got him to agree to six months in the house of correction, stayed and one year of probation with no weapons and complete sobriety. At my final hearing on May 31st, Georgia spoke for over twenty minutes telling the judge of my achievements and presented about twenty minutes telling the judge of my achievements and presented about twenty character references. She also gave the judge ten reasons, personal and medical, why I should not be sent to jail. The judge denied the ADA his penalty and said I could keep my concealed carry permit, and I should drink responsibly. I was very happy and very PROUD of her and I would highly recommend her to anyone.” A.Z.


An OWI means operating while intoxicated, you can be charged with this even if you are not operating a moving vehicle. You could be sitting in a stationary vehicle and still face drunk driving charges. An OWI doesn’t just apply to cars, it includes trucks, boats, snowmobiles and more. 

A DUI means driving under the influence, you can only be charged with this if you were operating a moving vehicle while you were under the influence. This charge only applies to motorized vehicles. 

No, for a first OWI offense there is no jail sentence. If you are faced with a conviction, you could pay a fine ranging from $100 to $300. However, if you had a prior OWI conviction, you could face jail time from a couple of days to several months. 

Yes, if you are found to have been operating a vehicle under the influence of a drug, such as marijuana, cocaine, heroin or other illegal substances you most likely will be charged with a crime. If you are found to be using over the counter drugs or prescribed medication it is important to check to see if any of the ingredients in the medicine can impair your driving.   

Skip to content